Alsómattyasóc (Nižné Matiašovce) is a village in the Upper lands/Horná Zem/Felvidék, near to the previous Hungarian-Polish border. Now it is in Slovakia. It is famous for its fortified church. King Béla IV gave it to the judge of Besztercebánya in 1262. The church was first mentioned in 1356, before this time the village was called Felsőszélnye. There were four stately homes there in 1584. The fortification was built in the 17th century.
In the Carpathian Basin, there are plenty of fortified churches from this period, perhaps this area can boast the highest number of fortified churches in Europe. These were the “castles of the poor” and they saved many lives from the raiding Tatars, Turks or Christian mercenaries.