Beckó (Beckov, Beckow) castle is a gem of the Hungarian medieval history, it is located in the Upper lands/Horná Zem/Felvidék, now in Slovakia.
The castle is on the left bank of the River Vág. It is also called Bolondóc or Stribor castle and it was there in the 12th-century already. It was owned by the infamous Lord Stibor in the 14th century and in the Turkish age it was surrounded by an outer wall, too.
There were 218 houses in the small town in 1598. The Turks were laying a siege on it in 1599 but in vain.
The settlement below the castle had a right to keep markets in 1520. Its Franciscan monastery was built in 1689. During the 17th century, the small town had some guilds: boot-makers, broad-cloth makers, and millers lived there. The Mednyánszky family had a manor and palace there in 1540. Its church is built in the renaissance-gothic style.
There are several legends about this castle.